DIY Work Bench

I built a work bench today by improvising some plans based upon the combination of this bench and this one from DIY network. The first bench plan was the basis for my plan, I shortened the length a bit, but then seeing the bench on DIY network’s site, I decided the high back would be nice. I’ve yet to add the peg board, but that will be second round. The whole thing used six 8′ 2×4’s, about 2/3 of a 4×8 sheet of 1/2″ MDF and 1/4″ sanded pine (the MDF is the base for the top and shelf, the pine gives it a nice look).

DIY Work Bench

I drew my plan out on a sheet of paper and I was ambitious to think that I’d put it in Google sketchup or something, but have yet to find the energy. If you find this site looking for a detailed plan, leave me a comment and perhaps by then I’ll have put it in sketchup or have a cleaner technical drawing.

DIW Work Bench Plans

The whole thing took about 4 hours to build, but there was some time in there for cleaning the basement and organizing my tools, too.

Leave a comment